Continue shopping

Your Order

You have no items in your cart

Subtotal: 0,00€

Hungry for change?

We love good chocolate. But there is a bitter aftertaste...

> 575

Soccer fields are cut down every day around the world just to grow cocoa.*

46.6%

of all plastic packaging is recycled.*

2.1

Millions of children still work on cocoa plantations in the worst conditions.*

76%

of all cocoa farmers use environmentally harmful pesticides such as glyphosate.*

Ready to make a difference? Ready to make a difference? Ready to make a difference?

Time for a real change in the chocolate shelf

Time for chocolate without the bitter aftertaste. We fight for what is really important and set
new standards. Here we show you what we do to make the world a little bit better. Bar by bar, without losing sight of the big picture. That is why each of our products meets these 5 minimum standards:

icon vegane Rezeptur
Vegan recipe
Fairtrade Kakao nucao
From organic farming
nucao ist bio, vegan und fair
Fairtrade cocoa from Peru
plastikfreie Verpackung nucao
Sustainably packaged
nucao pflanzt Bäume
reforests

Unguilty pleasures

Olle Kamellen, but unfortunately still true: Animal products are often associated with negative climate impacts, deforestation and animal suffering. Things that just aren't compatible with our values. Quite the opposite: we set out to put truly sustainable chocolate on the shelves. That's why we're developing innovative vegan chocolate creations with our Swiss partner - creaminess guaranteed! From ecological cultivation, without chemical-synthetic pesticides and free from artificial additives and flavors, our products stand for a world in which we all want to live: Green, fair and outrageously delicious.

Regionality is not everything

Everything organic? Clear! Everything regional? Unfortunately not. With a product like chocolate, we cannot source all the ingredients locally. Unfortunately, while our sugar comes from Germany and Switzerland, our almonds from Spain and our hazelnuts from Turkey, ingredients like cocoa are not grown in Europe. Responsible purchasing of raw materials is all the more important to us. But: Regionality is not everything. That's why we always look at the entire life cycle of our products - including cultivation, manufacture, use and disposal.

Beat the beat

Coconut blossom sugar covers several thousand nautical miles on the way to us. The low processing and caramel taste of the sugar have convinced us so far, but who is ahead when it comes to sustainability? The answer: beet sugar! Due to the shorter transport routes, we have lower CO₂ emissions. Also, growing beet sugar uses less water than coconut palms. That's why the regional organic sugar has recently been on our list of ingredients. True to the motto: Don't let climate damage occur in the supply chain in the first place!

Chocolate trees are made of these

Keyword responsible procurement of raw materials: what about the cocoa? To this day, cocoa is associated with slavery and child labor, particularly in West Africa. If we want to fight the causes and not just the symptoms, it becomes clear that everything stands and falls with the price. We can only prevent unsustainable practices such as deforestation and the use of pesticides with really fair payment. That is why we pay our farmers from Peru an extra premium for the high quality of the cocoa in addition to the organic and fair trade premium. Full transparency wanted? We pay our cooperatives US$ 3,500 per tonne of cocoa.

Bite into the future

Our Peruvian cooperatives not only pay fair salaries, they also do without pesticides and promote local biodiversity with mixed cultures and agroforestry. As part of visits to our partner cooperatives on site, we can build long-term partnerships, get to know the farmers personally, get our own picture of their reality and discuss together how we have to change cocoa cultivation sustainably in order to continue to have a profitable one in the future and to be able to guarantee a livelihood harvest. After all, what would a world be without chocolate?

The best packaging is no packaging at all

We don't want our packaging to help create a continent of plastic waste. Unfortunately, since our products cannot do entirely without packaging, we have decided on what we consider to be the most environmentally friendly alternative: Our chocolate is packed in home-compostable cellulose film made from renewable raw materials and/or in recyclable paper. True to the motto: reduce, reuse, recycle.

nucao. nachhaltige Verpackung
nucao nachhaltige Verpackung

3% for the planet

We want to be an engine of change and your purchase is our (green) fuel. With every product purchased, we therefore donate 3% of our sales to reforestation projects. The donations go to our long-term partner Eden Reforestation Projects.

Our big goal: plant 1 billion trees!

164,250 days

requires conventional plastic to decompose in nature.

180 days

it takes for our cellulose film to completely decompose on the compost.

Your enjoyment makes trees grow

Together with our partner Eden Reforestation Projects, we implement environmental projects in regions severely affected by climate change, such as Madagascar or Nepal. Why? Reforestation is considered one of the most effective measures in the fight against climate change and forests are among the most important CO₂ stores on our planet. The measures not only have an ecological, but also a socially positive effect: the afforestation is carried out by the local communities. They own the land on which the forest is created and they benefit from the resources of the new forest.

Germany is also suffering from climate fever

What many do not know: Germany is one of the regions in Europe most severely affected by climate change. Our forests are drying up and falling victim to pests. That is why we regularly support the Bergwaldprojekt eV association with donations or work assignments on site in Eibenstock. A little tip: Such a reforestation day is also ideal as a team event!

nucao teambild tree planting
nucao teambild tree planting

And we have already achieved this together:

13.589.202

trees planted

19.02d

plastic saved

100%

sourced from traceable Fairtrade cocoa

Elbow mentality and greed for profit are not really our thing

We believe that sustainable business means working together for a better tomorrow. What does it take? A clear attitude, the will to change something and an alliance of like-minded people. That is why we are part of corporate networks such as:

Start-Ups for Tomorrow
Startups for Tomorrow

Network of young companies with the aim of raising awareness of sustainable consumption.

tcl logo. Together for Carbon Labelling
Together for Carbon Labelling

Initiative to establish a uniform CO₂ label with other food companies, scientists and NGOs.

The Good Food Collective
The Good Food Collective

Network of actors in the food industry who share the vision of a caring and ecological society.

ready to choc the system. nucao cheeky planet
ready to choc the system. nucao cheeky planet

For all sustainability nerds who want more specialist knowledge: stay tuned, there will be a new sustainability report soon! What else can you expect from us in the future? We want to get more involved in the source of our added value - especially in cocoa cultivation. You can also look forward to even more transparency in our supply chains. We have some exciting things in store for you.

Sources:

*https://documents1.worldbank.org/curated/en/876071495118818649/pdf/115144-REVISED-20170530-Cocoa-final-updated.pdf

*https://www.umweltbundesamt.de/daten/RESOURCES-Waste/recycling-entsorgung-selected-waste-types/plastic waste#plastic diversity

*https://www.webshop.inkota.de/produkt/download-inkota-infoblaetter/factsheet-pesticides-cocoa-production

Schließen

Deine Bestellung

Dein Warenkorb ist leer

Zwischensumme: 0,00€

Hungry for change?

Wir lieben gute Schoki. Aber es gibt da einen bitteren Beigeschmack...

> 575

Fussballfelder werden weltweit jeden Tag allein für Kakaoanbau abgeholzt.*

46,6%

aller Plastikverpackungen werden recycelt.*

2,1

Millionen Kinder arbeiten immer noch auf Kakaoplantagen unter schlimmsten Bedingungen.*

76%

aller Kakaobauer*innen verwenden umweltschädliche Pestizide wie Glyphosat.*

Ready to make a difference? Ready to make a difference? Ready to make a difference?

Zeit für einen echten Wandel im Schokoregal

Zeit für Schokolade ohne bitteren Beigeschmack. Wir kämpfen für das, was wirklich wichtig ist und setzen
neue Standards. Hier zeigen wir dir, was wir dafür tun, um die Welt ein kleines Stückchen besser zu machen. Riegel für Riegel, ohne das große Ganze aus den Augen zu verlieren. Darum erfüllt jedes unserer Produkte diese 5 Mindeststandards:

icon vegane Rezeptur
Vegane Rezeptur
Fairtrade Kakao nucao
Aus ökologischem Anbau
nucao ist bio, vegan und fair
Faritrade-Kakao aus Peru
plastikfreie Verpackung nucao

Nachhaltig verpackt

nucao pflanzt Bäume

Unterstützt Aufforstungsprojekte

Unguilty pleasures

Olle Kamellen, aber leider immer noch wahr: Tierische Produkte gehen oft mit negativen Klimaauswirkungen, Abholzung und Tierleid einher. Dinge, die mit unseren Werten einfach nicht vereinbar sind. Ganz im Gegenteil: Wir sind angetreten, um wirklich nachhaltige Schokolade in die Regale zu bringen. Mit unserem Schweizer Partner entwickeln wir deshalb innovative vegane Schoko-Kreationen - Cremigkeit garantiert! Aus ökologischem Anbau, ohne chemisch-synthetische Pestizide und frei von künstlichen Zusatzstoffen und Aromen stehen unsere Produkte für eine Welt, in der wir alle leben wollen: Grün, fair und unverschämt lecker.

Regionalität ist 
nicht alles

Alles bio? Klar! Alles regional? Leider nicht. Bei einem Produkt wie Schokolade können wir nicht alle Zutaten regional beziehen. Während unser Zucker aus Deutschland und der Schweiz, unsere Mandeln aus Spanien und unsere Haselnüsse aus der Türkei kommen, werden Zutaten wie Kakao leider nicht in Europa angebaut. Um so wichtiger ist uns ein verantwortungsvoller Rohstoffeinkauf. Aber: Regionalität ist nicht alles. Deshalb schauen wir uns immer den gesamten Lebenszyklus unserer Produkte an - inklusive Anbau, Herstellung, Nutzung und Entsorgung.

Beet the beat

Mehrere tausend Seemeilen legt Kokosblütenzucker auf dem Weg zu uns zurück. Die geringe Verarbeitung und der karamellige Geschmack des Zuckers haben uns bisher überzeugt, doch wer hat die Nase vorn, wenn es um Nachhaltigkeit geht? Die Antwort: Rübenzucker! Durch die kürzeren Transportwege haben wir einen geringeren CO₂-Ausstoß. Außerdem verbraucht der Anbau von Rübenzucker weniger Wasser als Kokospalmen. Deshalb steht der regionale Bio-Zucker seit kurzem auf unserer Zutatenliste. Getreu dem Motto: Klimaschäden in der Lieferkette gar nicht erst enstehen lassen!

Chocolate trees are made of these

Stichwort verantwortungsvoller Rohstoffeinkauf: Wie sieht es eigentlich mit dem Kakao aus? Bis heute steht Kakao im Zusammenhang mit Sklaverei und Kinderarbeit, insbesondere in Westafrika. Wenn wir Ursachen und nicht nur Symptome bekämpfen wollen, wird klar: Alles steht und fällt mit dem Preis. Unnachhaltigen Praktiken wie Abholzung und dem Einsatz von Pestiziden können wir nur mit einer wirklich fairen Bezahlung vorbeugen. Deshalb zahlen wir unseren Farmer*innen aus Peru zusätzlich zur Bio- und Fairtrade-Prämie eine Extra-Prämie für die hohe Qualität des Kakaos. Full transparency wanted? Pro Tonne Kakao zahlen wir 3500 US-Dollar an unsere Kooperativen.

Biss in die Zukunft

Unsere peruanischen Kooperativen zahlen aber nicht nur faire Gehälter, sondern verzichten auch auf Pestizide und fördern mit Mischkulturen und Agroforstwirtschaft die Biodiversität vor Ort. Im Rahmen von Besuchen bei unseren Partner-Kooperativen vor Ort können wir langfristige Partnerschaften aufbauen, die Bauer*innen persönlich kennenlernen, uns ein eigenes Bild von ihrer Lebensrealität machen und gemeinsam diskutieren, wie wir den Kakaoanbau nachhaltig verändern müssen, um auch in Zukunft eine ertragreiche und existenzsichernde Ernte gewährleisten zu können. Denn was wäre schon eine Welt ohne Schokolade?

Die beste Verpackung ist gar keine Verpackung

Wir wollen nicht, dass unsere Verpackung zur Entstehung eines Kontinents aus 
Plastikmüll beiträgt. Da unsere Produkte aber leider nicht gänzlich ohne Verpackung auskommen, haben wir uns für die in unseren Augen umweltfreundlichste Alternative entschieden: Unsere Schoki ist in heimkompostierbarer Zellulose-Folie aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen und/oder in recycelbarem Papier verpackt. Ganz nach der Devise: Reduce, reuse, recycle.

nucao. nachhaltige Verpackung
nucao nachhaltige Verpackung

164.250 Tage

benötigt herkömmliche Plastik, um sich in der Natur zu zersetzen.

180 Tage

dauert es, bis sich unsere Zellulose-Folie auf dem Kompost vollständig zersetzt hat.

3% for the planet

Wir wollen ein Motor des Wandels sein und dein Einkauf ist unser (grüner) Treibstoff. Mit jedem gekauften Produkt spenden wir deshalb 3% unseres Umsatzes an Aufforstungsprojekte. Die Spenden gehen an unseren langjährigen Partner Eden Reforestation Projects. 



Unser ganz großes Ziel: 1 Mrd. Bäume pflanzen!

Dein Genuss lässt Bäume wachsen

Gemeinsam mit unserem Partner Eden Reforestation Projects setzen wir Umweltprojekte in stark vom Klimawandel betroffenen Regionen wie Madagaskar oder Nepal um. Warum? Aufforstung gilt als eine der effektiven Maßnahmen im Kampf gegen den Klimawandel und Wälder zählen zu den wichtigsten CO₂-Speichern unseres Planeten. Die Maßnahmen haben aber nicht nur einen ökologisch, sondern auch einen sozial positiven Effekt: Die Aufforstung wird nämlich von den lokalen Gemeinden durchgeführt. Ihnen gehört das Land, auf dem der Wald entsteht und sie profitieren von den Ressourcen des neuen Forsts.

Auch Deutschland krankt am Klima-Fieber

Was viele nicht wissen: Deutschland ist eine der am schwersten vom Klimawandel betroffenen Regionen in Europa. Unsere Wälder trocknen aus und fallen Schädlingen 
zum Opfer. Deshalb unterstützen wir regelmäßig den Verein Bergwaldprojekt e.V. mit Spenden oder Arbeitseinsätzen vor Ort in Eibenstock. Kleiner Tipp: So ein Aufforstungstag eignet sich auch hervorragend als Teamevent!

nucao teambild tree planting
nucao teambild tree planting

Und das haben wir schon zusammen erreicht:

13.589.202

Bäume gepflanzt

19,02 T

Plastik eingespart

100%

rückverfolgbaren Fairtrade-Kakao bezogen

Ellenbogenmentalität und Profitgier sind nicht so unser Ding

Wir glauben, nachhaltiges Wirtschaften bedeutet zusammen für ein besseres Morgen zu arbeiten. Was es dafür braucht? Eine klare Haltung, den Willen etwas zu verändern und eine Allianz von Gleichgesinnten. Darum sind wir Teil von Unternehmensnetzwerken wie:

Start-Ups for Tomorrow
Start-Ups for Tomorrow

Netzwerk von jungen Unternehmen mit dem Ziel, für nachhaltigen Konsum zu sensibilisieren.

tcl logo. Together for Carbon Labelling
Together for Carbon Labelling

Initiative zur Gründung eines einheitlichen CO₂-Labels mit anderen Lebensmittelfirmen, Wissenschaftler*innen und NGOs.

The Good Food Collective
The Good Food Collective

Netzwerk von Akteur*innen der Lebensmittelbranche, die die Vision einer solidarischen und ökologischen Gesellschaft teilen.

ready to choc the system. nucao cheeky planet
ready to choc the system. nucao cheeky planet

Für alle Nachhaltigkeitsnerds, die Lust auf mehr Fachwissen haben: stay stuned, 
bald gibt es wieder einen neuen Nachhaltigkeitsbericht! Was ihr in der Zukunft sonst noch von uns erwarten könnt? Wir wollen uns stärker im Ursprung unserer Wertschöpfung - speziell im Kakaoanbau - engagieren. Freut euch außerdem auf noch mehr Transparenz in unseren Lieferketten. Wir haben da einige aufregende Dinge für euch in petto.

Quellen:

*https://documents1.worldbank.org/curated/en/876071495118818649/pdf/115144-REVISED-20170530-Cocoa-final-updated.pdf



*https://www.umweltbundesamt.de/daten/ressourcen-abfall/verwertung-entsorgung-ausgewaehlter-abfallarten/kunststoffabfaelle#kunststoffvielfalt

*https://www.webshop.inkota.de/produkt/download-inkota-infoblaetter/factsheet-pesticides-cocoa-production